Where Brakes Beg for Mercy

The Targa Florio is one of the world’s oldest and most famous car races.

It was an open road endurance race held high in the Sicilian mountains, notorious for its disasters.

The only thing crazier than the drivers was the terrain they raced on!

The Targa Floria was created and organised by Vincenzo Floria in 1906.

From 1906 to 1977, it was a race of speed, and since 1978, it has been a rally.

The original Madonie Mountains Circuit was 92 miles long.

Despite mountainous, poorly maintained roads, it attracted major sports car manufacturers and famous drivers.

Ferrari, Porsche, Alfa Romeo, and Mercedes-Benz entered teams.

The list of famous drivers is endless, including Graham Hill, Tazio Nuvolari, Jacky Ickx, Giovanni Bracco, Michele Alboreto, Vic Elford, Nino Vaccarella, and Achille Varzi.

Stirling Moss, sitting alongside Juan Manuel Fangio, driving a Mercedes-Benz 300 SLR, won the ‘Floria’ in 1955.

The race was notorious for its dangers and fatal accidents. The challenging terrain made it one of the most dangerous races in motorsport history.

Notwithstanding the Targa Florio’s open-road rally with almost no safety features, it is surprising that only nine people died over the 71-year and 61-race history.

The last official Targa Floria was in 1977 due to safety concerns and regulation changes.

Historic and tribute races are still held in celebration of the Targa Floria legacy.

‘The Targa Floria where Rubber met Madness’