Au Revoir GTE

The World Endurance Championship is the premier international endurance racing championship, featuring top-level prototype and GT cars.

Organised by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA).

They are allowing the world’s leading car manufacturers to compete in long-distance races worldwide.

The World Endurance Championship was established in 2012, replacing the Intercontinental Le Mans Cup.

One of the most notable features of the WEC was its diverse range of classes, which has now been simplified.

There will now only be two classes, Hypercar and LMGT3.

The previous GTE class has been replaced by Le Mans Grand Touring (LMGT3).

The two Classes race at the same time.

In the Hypercar Class, 19 manufacturers from nine different brands will compete.

Namely, Aston Martin, BMW, Corvette, Ferrari, Ford, Lexus, Lamborghini, McLaren and Porsche.

Each LMGT3 team may only enter two cars; 9 manufacturers are competing.

The Le Mans Grand Touring class allows both works and ‘gentlemen drivers.’

The 2024 FIA WEC season has eight races.

The regular distance for a WEC race is 6 hours, except for the 10 hours of Qatar and the 8 Hours of Bahrain. 

The highlight of the season is the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Unlike fixed-distance races, where the winner is determined by minimum time, Le Mans’ 24 Hours is won by the car that covers the greatest distance in 24 hours.